Product Abandonment enables you to send an automated email after your subscribers leave the website while viewing any product in your store. 

 
 

Before you start

Currently Product Abandonment is available on the following platforms:

  • Shopify
  • BigCommerce
  • Prestashop module 1.0.7
  • WooCommerce module 1.6.0
  • Magento 1, module 1.2.0
  • Integrations via API v3

This feature is available under the Automation tab and can be used by Standard and Pro plan users.

The trigger for this workflow is preset to “viewed product”. 

Each time a subscriber leaves your store while viewing products, he enters the workflow. Depending on the delay you set, your customer receives an email about it and once the email is sent, he exits the workflow.
 

Setup process

Product Abandonment setup process is very similar to other automation workflows setup on Omnisend. It consists of a couple of standard steps: trigger, delay, email, end of the workflow. See the info below for Product Abandonment setup or jump to a video on how to set up an automation workflow or how to edit automation workflow to add more emails to it.

Trigger

The workflow is triggered by an abandoned product page (Viewed Product). 

Edit audience settings to trigger your automation for the specific audience only, more about creating a segment here

Delay

Delay step allows you to choose the delay for email to be sent - time Omnisend will wait from trigger to sending email. You can  edit the default delay (1 hour) to hours, days, weeks or months. 

Important: the delays will always be counted starting from the end of the previous event, not from the trigger. 

You can also choose, what should happen with contacts, who might be affected by new rules (if changing the delay rules): 

  • Discontinue the current sequences under the old rules - choosing this option would not send any emails with old rules, if any customers are already in the workflow.
  • Complete the current sequences according to the old rules - this option would finish sending the emails with old rules to all customers that are currently in the workflow.

Email

You can edit the email, that you send to your subscribers. Choose from a variety of our free templates and use a design theme for it.

The email will come, by default, with the  Abandoned products Content Block, which will automatically populate the information about products that your customer was checking before abandoning the store.

End of workflow

Customers exit the workflow in the following scenarios:

  1. When they receive the email; 
  2. When they add a product to their cart
  3. When they make a purchase. This cancellation trigger is added by default:

You can add additional cancellation rules and triggers, just click Edit cancellation:

Add trigger rules:

Add cancellation triggers:

Statistics of customers who entered the workflow will be calculated and the total will be provided in the End of workflow box.
 

Reports

Like all other Automation features, Product Abandonment reports are available at the Reports tab. You can find the standard list of reports: number of emails sent, open and click rate, sales generated, and removed, as well as month by month view and Activity feed with detailed information.

 

Did this answer your question?