Every automation designed in Omnisend has the primary trigger that defines when the customer enters the flow, and it also has a set of cancellation conditions defining when a particular customer should exit it. It doesn't matter what blocks you have in the flow and at which of the stages your customers are, they will exit the sequence as soon as the cancellation condition is satisfied.

Contents

Setting-up Exit Conditions
Cancel the workflow for non-subscribed customers
Cancel the workflow for the unconsented customers
Manual cancellation for the sequence

Before you start

  • Exit conditions can be applied to the Automation workflows by the users on the Trial, Standard, Pro, and Enterprise plans.
  • All of the automation workflows created in Omnisend discontinue after the customer goes through all stages from the sequence or when the exit condition is satisfied.
  • Up to 5 Exit conditions with different trigger filters can be added to a single workflow.

Setting-up Exit Conditions

If you start working on the sequence from selecting one of our presets, you may check the default exit condition in the trigger settings.

The majority of the preset automation workflows, have Order Placed event in the Exit conditions settings.

To change or add the exit condition to the trigger, you need to enter the editor for the Automation -> click on the Trigger block -> navigate to the Exit conditions.

Add filter

When setting up the exit condition, you may either choose to add a filter or leave the condition only. Adding a filter will help you target your communication more precisely. You may even add up to 5 different filters to each of the Exit conditions. For example, you may add two Order Statuses connected with OR operator to the Order Placed Trigger, thus, canceling the sequence for the orders with any of these statuses.

Important! Be careful when using AND operator, since the automation will be canceled only in case both rules are met simultaneously.

Add Exit condition

When adding another exit condition, you may add another cancellation event to the trigger. In that case, the workflow can be canceled when your customer places the order OR leaves a cart behind.

Once you've added the condition, you can proceed with the rest of the settings.

Cancel the workflow for non-subscribed customers

There are a few automation workflows that are triggered despite the customers' statuses. While the transactional email with the receipt or tracking information should be sent to all customers, you may want to limit Abandoned Cart automation to subscribed customers only.

To prevent non-subscribed customers from receiving your promotional emails you should add a Segment-based Exit condition. Follow the next steps for the detailed instruction.

Step 1: Create a Segment of the contacts having non-subscribed status. In the screenshots below, we are checking the status of the contacts for the Email channel only, but you may adjust it according to your needs.

Step 2: Add Segment-based Exit condition to the Automation settings.

💡 We recommend using Exit condition instead of the Audience filter, since the last one may have a short delay in processing the contact correspondence to the Segment.

Cancel the workflow for the unconsented customers

All of the automation workflows are triggered differently depending on customers' statuses. While you want to deliver transactional emails to all of your customers despite their subscription status, the automation from the abandonment series to comply with a GDPR or TCPA should be sent to consented customers only.

GDPR

TCPA

Manual cancellation for the sequence

After you launch the automation, there is no way to cancel it for selected customers only. To solve this problem, we suggest adding a Segment based automation with the tag created for this sequence in particular. When you add a tag to the customer profile, he will be added to the Segment and will cancel the flow right away.

Important! As its name states, the sequence is canceled when the customer enters the Segment. Nothing happens if the customer was added to the Segment previously.

Step 1: Create a tag-based Segment

To create a tag that could later be used for the sequence, you need to assign that tag to one of your customers. After the tag is created, the customer can be un-tagged.

Step 2: Add Segment-based trigger to the workflow settings

As you may see from the Recording, we tried editing enabled workflow. Therefore, we had to choose what needs to be done to the customers that entered the sequence already. We always recommend going with "Complete the current sequence" instead of discontinuing it.

We encourage you to accept our best practices and reach out to the Support Team 👋 via chat or at support@omnisend.com in case any question arises.

Did this answer your question?