By enabling the Frequency setting in the Automation Trigger, you may restrict contacts from triggering the workflow if they did that already. This can help you to align your marketing automations with each other and make sure you are not sending messages with identical content over and over again.
Setting up the Frequency
After enabling the Frequency setting, you can decide whether you'd preferer not to trigger the workflow for the contacts that entered this particular sequence:
at any time in the past;
in the last # of hours, days, or weeks.
This option is available in all automations. In the majority of the pre-set flows, it is disabled, but for those based on browsing behavior, it is enabled and is set to 1 day. There are a few aspects for you to consider when enabling the Frequency and choosing the restriction.
When the customers are browsing your website, they might trigger Browsing based automation on many occasions. The customer could revisit the same page a couple of times or add a few products to the cart. If you disable the Frequency, the same customer will trigger a bunch of messages in a short period of time.
The main benefit of automations is that you can set them once and then forget them for their lifetime. However, it also constrains you from changing the content of your messages. If your customer has triggered the Abandoned Cart workflow recently, the content of the message might be too fresh.
It is your ultimate goal to approach your customer every time they interact with your store. By placing an order in your store, the customer opens a window for a variety of other workflows, including Shipping Confirmation, Order Follow-up, Cross-sell, and Customer Reactivation. Using the Frequency setting, you can exclude some of the messages from the post-purchase series of messages and leave those that are essential or generate more sales.
Frequency in the Segment-based automation
Segment-based automaton has an additional option, that lets you choose whether you want to trigger the same automation for the customer that was removed and then re-added to the Segment.
When you enable this option, you should also make sure it doesn't conflict with the Frequency setting. In this case, the Frequency should be disabled, or the time in the restriction should be aligned with the action that retriggers the workflow.
Frequency is a simple tool. But it helps you eliminate some problems and enhance your strategies.
If you didn't find the answer to your question, reach out to our Support Team via in-app chat or at [email protected].