Product Abandoned workflow is one of the workflows from our Abandonment series. The main difference between this sequence and Abandoned Cart one is that your customer doesn't need to add the product to the cart or start the check-out process, Omnisend will still capture the product/products your customer has browsed and show them in the email message.

When setting up this automation, you should keep in mind that reviewing some of the products in your store doesn't indicate the same level of engagement as Abandoning a Cart, therefore, it is better to lighten your trigger settings or add a time frame restriction to prevent this automation triggering for the same customer. Continue reading this article to find more information about each of these options.

Contents

Before you start
Automation set-up
Content of the message (personalized information)
Achieving better results
Reports

Before you start

Automation set-up

To create Product Abandoned automation navigate to the Automations tab -> New workflow -> Shopper -> Product Abandoned.

Product Abandonment automation setup process is very similar to other automation workflows setup on Omnisend.

Automation trigger settings

The trigger for this workflow is preset to “Viewed Product”. There is no way to add a filter to the trigger settings since the automation will bring any product to the Email message content.

Each time a subscriber leaves your store while viewing products, he enters the workflow. Depending on the delay you set, your customer receives a message about it and once the message is sent, he exits the workflow.

Audience filter/Conditional Split

If you wish to trigger the automation for a particular category of customers, you may add an Audience filter to the automation trigger settings. However, for Product Abandoned automation, Audience filter settings are limited to customers' properties only therefore it might be a better decision to use Conditional Split.

Important: the message can be triggered only in case the customer provided some personal data before viewing the product.

Exit conditions

The default trigger in the Product Abandoned workflow is set to Order is Placed. If you have Abandoned Cart sequence in place, the Product Abandoned will be canceled. Therefore, the customers exit the workflow in the following scenarios:

  1. after receiving all messages;
  2. after adding products to the cart;
  3. after placing the order (this cancellation trigger is added by default).

Frequency

In the trigger settings, you can set the restriction to not trigger the same automation for the specified period. In case the customer has visited your store several times within the same day, only one automation will be triggered.

Since this automation is rather intended to capture the attention of the one-time visitors, we would recommend setting the delay to 10 - 15 days to avoid sending to many emails to your loyal customers.

Delay

Unlike other automation workflows, the minimum Delay for the Abandoned Cart automation is 1 hour.

Content of the message (personalized information)

In the Abandoned Product sequence, you can add the email message, SMS or Push Notification block. Unfortunately, it is not possible to bring the link to the products your customers were viewing to the SMS message. Nevertheless, the email message comes with the Abandoned products Content Block, which will automatically populate the information about products your customer was checking before abandoning the store.

Since only the products available in stock can be added to the cart, Abandoned Products block in the Abandoned Cart automation doesn't have a check-mark to display out of stock products or not. While in the Abandoned Products block, you may choose whether you want to show those products or not.

Important! If you want to add more than one channel to the sequence, you need to add a check-mark next to the Pass non-opted-in contact to the next workflow step option.

How To Use Email Retargeting In Your Marketing Strategy



Achieving better results

Even though Product Abandoned automation can be triggered by non-subscribed customers, you still need to capture their email addresses. The best way to achieve that is to “warmed up” your account. This means that you need to spread as many cookies as possible - send more newsletters, enable Omnisend Signup forms. Day by day the number of customers (who have your tracking cookie) will increase.

More cookies → More abandoned browsing tracked → More reminder emails sent → More customers engaged.


Reports

Like all other Automation features, Product Abandonment reports are available at the Reports tab. You can find the standard list of reports: number of emails sent, open and click rate, sales generated, and removed, as well as month by month view and Activity feed with detailed information.

Did this answer your question?