Cancellation Confirmation enables you to send an automated cancellation confirmation email after your customers cancel any placed order. This feature is available for legacy Standard, Pro, and Enterprise plan users under the Automation tab.
It features our new setup process, which allows you to see the workflow in a waterfall layout, where a particular trigger begins the workflow. See the layout below.
Eligibility and requirements
The trigger for this workflow is preset and it is set to “order cancelled”. This means that your orders status should be pushed to Omnisend. This happens automatically for all eCommerce platforms (Shopify, Bigcommerce) and those integrated via API-v3.
Each time a customer cancels an order, he/she enters the workflow. Depending on the delay set by the store owner, the customer receives an email about it. Once the email is sent, the client exits the workflow.
Cancellation Confirmation setup process is very similar to other automation workflows setup on Omnisend. It consists of a couple of standard steps: trigger, delay, email, end of the workflow. See the info below for Cancellation Confirmation set up or jump to a video on how to set up an automation workflow or how to edit automation workflow to add more emails to it.
This workflow is triggered by a cancelled order. For Shopify and Bigcommerce stores the order status has to be “Cancelled”
When the order status becomes cancelled, the confirmation email is triggered and sent according to the timing set.
Edit trigger setting to add rules and audience settings to trigger your automation for the specific audience only. More about creating a segment for audience here.
This step allows you to choose the delay of email sent - the time Omnisend will wait from the trigger until the email should be sent. You can choose to edit the default delay (Immediately) and set it to:
Important: the delays will always be counted starting from the end of the previous event, not from the trigger.
Changing rules to enabled flow
You can choose, what should happen with those contacts, who might be affected by the new rules. There are two ways of dealing with it:
- Discontinuing the current sequences under the old rules, which would not send any emails with old rules, if there are any customers in the workflow,
- Completing the current sequences according to the old rules, which would finish sending the emails with old rules to all customers that are currently in the workflow (recommended).
This step allows you to choose and edit the email, that is sent to the customer. You can choose from either of our free templates and use one of either design themes for it. Compared to other emails, this email contains new content blocks:
- Order (order information, see image below),
- Billing and shipping (buyer’s addresses),
- Order status button (a button linking to that particular order info, the link is added automatically).
What is great, that you can choose, what exactly needs to be shown in the email.
Please, note that confirmation messages will be sent in currency the order was placed in.
End of workflow
When the customer receives an email, they exit the workflow. Such clients are calculated and the total is provided at the End of workflow box.
Like all other E-commerce features, Order Confirmation reports are available at the Reports tab. It contains the standard list of reports: number of emails sent, open rate, click rate, sales generated, and removed. Month by month view and Activity feed with detailed information is available as well.