In Omnisend, we provide you with the ability to offer a multi-channel experience to your customers. However, each of them has certain restrictions and its ways to collect your customers' opt-ins. Continue reading this article to learn more about different statuses for each of the channels.

Contents

Before you start
Contact statuses
Subscription status VS marketing add
Identifying subscription status
Removed contacts (legacy status)

Before you start

Contact statuses

Each channel has three different statuses. Here is a brief explanation:

  • Subscribed - a customer has opted-in for that channel and accepts your marketing. Feel free to send them your promotions through that channel.
  • Non-subscribed - your clients' contact details have been recorded on your website during the purchase while abandoning a cart or creating an account, but they have never subscribed to your newsletters. You cannot send your promotional communication to non-subscribed clients. Check the dedicated article for more information on the non-subscribed status.
  • Unsubscribed - customers who used to be your subscribers, but decided to unsubscribe from your marketing through that channel. You are not allowed to send any communication to them, and this rule violation may result in your account suspension.

Subscription status VS marketing add

Each of the channels defines what statuses and when each of your contacts can have. Depending on the contact status, Omnisend determines what type of messages your contacts can get.

While the non-promotional (order-related) Email and SMS can be sent to all contacts, despite their subscription status, Push Notification or a message via Facebook can be sent to subscribed contacts only.

Identifying subscription status

To see what channel your client is subscribed to, use Segmenting functionality in the Audience tab -> All contacts list. 

To select only those contacts who subscribed to one of your channels, choose to Create segment -> select the channel -> select status is Subscribed:

To see the Non-subscribed or Unsubscribed for particular channel contacts, use the same filtering functionality; just choose the status you need to see.

Removed contacts (legacy status)

If you are an old-time user of Omnisend, you might remember having the list of contacts with Removed status. It was an alternative option between deleting and unsubscribing your contacts, that would keep your contacts separate and would let you restore them at any time.

This status is no longer available, but no worries, you are all covered! 

  1. We have created a segment of All non-removed contacts, so when you send communication to your customers, make sure you always use that segment to skip the removed contacts.
  2. Use Contact tags to mark your contacts as removed. Mark your contacts with a tag Removed from everywhere -> use a rule Tag is not Removed from everywhere in any new segment you create with Omnisend. 
  3. If you have any segments already created on Omnisend, we have automatically added a rule to all existing segments Tag is not Removed from everywhere.

If you didn't find the answer to your question, reach out to our Support Team via in-app chat or at support@omnisend.com.

Did this answer your question?