The main advantage of Segments is that they update automatically and in real-time. You define the qualifications your customers should meet to be added or removed from the Segment by setting the rule.
Continue reading this article to learn more about different Segments types and update timings.
Depending on the Segment update time, we can distinguish two main types of Segmentations:
Date-based Segments (specify the time when the event took place).
For Conditional Segments, we can say that they update instantly. Every time new information is added, it is checked against the rule, and the contact is added/removed from the Segment. If information is synced from your store platform with a delay, it will be checked against the rule in the Segment as soon as it hits Omnisend.
Although we say that Segments are updated instantly, it takes some time to process this information. The delay we are talking about is not longer than a minute.
According to the date settings, this type of Segment is also updated in real-time. Let's say that your Segment should filter out the contacts that placed an order in the last 30 days.
In this case, the Segment is updated every day at 12 am in your time zone. The time zone can be changed in the Store Settings -> Contact information -> Time zone.
Updating an existing Segment
If you want to update an existing Segment, you should change the rule and click on the Update segment button. If you are using this Segment as a trigger in the Segment entry/exit-based automation, you will need to choose whether you want to trigger the workflow for the contacts affected by the rule update.
⏲️When you are building a new Segment or updating an existing one, the number of contacts you have will directly impact the processing time. While it takes a few seconds to process a 10k contacts list, it may take up to a minute for 100k.
To keep your segment list clean and tidy, the segments that have not been used in the last 90 days will become inactive and won't update automatically unless you decide to resume updating.
Here's how it works. The segment becomes inactive if:
it wasn't used in the last 90 days;
it wasn't used when sending a campaign;
it wasn't used in automations;
it wasn't used for Facebook or Google Ads sync;
it wasn't updated.
Inactive segments are not recalculated in real-time, and next to a segment, you will see a message indicating that the segment is inactive due to prolonged inactivity. You will be able to filter out Inactive segments from the Segments tab in your audience.
Once you open the segment, you will only see the rules of the inactive segment. You won't see any contacts or contact number. If you decide to reactivate the segment, you can do so by clicking the “Resume” button. The segment will be recalculated immediately. Please note that copying the segment resumes it too.
⚠️It's crucial to know that inactive segments are removed from the campaign “been sent to” segment list and from the “Enters segment” trigger-based automations.
Didn't find the answer to your question? Reach out to our Support Team via in-app chat or at [email protected].