Product Abandonment enables you to send an automated email after your subscribers leave the website while viewing any product in your store. This feature is available for all Standard and Pro plan users under the Automation tab.
It features our new setup process, which allows you to see the workflow in a waterfall layout, where a particular trigger begins the workflow. See the layout below.
Eligibility and requirements
The trigger for this workflow is preset and it is set to “viewed product”. This happens automatically for all eCommerce platforms (Shopify, BigCommerce) and those integrated via API-v3.
Each time a subscriber views products on your store and leaves it, he/she enters the workflow. Depending on the delay set by the store owner, a subscriber receives an email about it. Once the email is sent, a client exits the workflow.
This workflow will be cancelled if the subscriber makes a purchase or adds the product to the cart.
Product Abandonment setup process is very similar to other automation workflows setup on Omnisend. It consists of a couple of standard steps: trigger, delay, email, end of the workflow. See the info below for Product Abandonment setup or jump to a video on how to set up an automation workflow or how to edit automation workflow to add more emails to it.
This workflow is triggered by an abandoned product page (Viewed Product).
This step allows you to choose the delay of email sent - the time Omnisend will wait from the trigger until the email should be sent. You can choose to edit the default delay (1 hour) and set it to:
You can also choose, what should happen with those contacts, who might be affected by the new rules (if the delay rules are being changed). There are two ways of dealing with it:
- Discontinuing the current sequences under the old rules, which would not send any emails with old rules, if there are any customers in the workflow,
- Completing the current sequences according to the old rules, which would finish sending the emails with old rules to all customers that are currently in the workflow.
This step allows you to choose and edit the email, that is sent to the subscriber. You can choose from either of our free templates and use one of either design themes for it.
The email will come, by default, with the Abandoned products Content Block, which will populate automatically the information about the products that your customer was checking when he/she abandoned the website.
End of workflow
When the subscriber receives an email or adds a product to their cart, they exit the workflow. Such clients are calculated and the total is provided at the End of workflow box.
Like all other Automation features, Product Abandonment reports are available at the Reports tab. It contains the standard list of reports: number of emails sent, open rate, click rate, sales generated, and removed. Month by month view and Activity feed with detailed information is available as well.