In Omnisend, the same contact may have different subscription statuses for each of the channels, Subscribed to Emails, and Unsubscribed from SMS or Push Notifications. For that reason, we don't keep a Suppression list, but only allow you to check your contacts' statuses by creating a Segment of the contacts unsubscribed from the chosen channel.

Contents

Before you start
The Customer account
Creating a Segment of the Unsubscribers

Before you start

The Customer account

You may see the status of your contact denoted by reddish color under the All contacts tab.

By opening your customer profile, you may also check the date when his subscription status chanced to unsubscribed and why did that happen.

💡 The information in the customer's profile provides the reason and the date of the last opt-out. If your customer subscribes again, the opt-in time will be later than the opt-out one and subscription status set to Subscribed.

Creating a Segment of the Unsubscribers

To check aggregated data, you may create a Segment of the Unsubscribed contacts by clicking on Create segment button -> selecting the channel -> setting the status to Unsubscribed.

With this Segment, you are checking the current status of your contacts. If they opted-out of your marketing and then subscribed again, they will have the last opt-out date and the reason listed in their profiles.

Using Segments, you may check the subscription status for the Email, SMS, and Push Notifications channels.

You may also filter your contacts out based on the unsubscription reason. The list of the reasons for the Email channels includes:

  • Unsubscribed via link in marketing message, when the customer unsubscribes on the Unsubscribe page.
  • Unsubscribed by user action, when Omnisend account user unsubscribes the customer.
  • Unsubscribed via API request, when the status of the customer is changed with the API request.
  • Unsubscribed via file import, when the import file contains the opt-out date field for the contact that is later than the opt-in one.
  • Unsubscribed via preference management link, when the customer un-checks Subscribe to marketing campaigns via email option within the Preference management page.
  • Unsubscribed on your website, when the customer status changes to unsubscribed one in your store admin.
  • Unsubscribed due to changes in pricing, due to the changes in Omnisend pricing, customers having Removed status (legacy) were unsubscribed.
  • Bounced, when the customer's email address is reported as undeliverable.
  • Reported spam, when the customer reports your emails as spam.
  • Unknown, any reason other than those listed above.

🎓 If you have any inactive (unengaged) contacts in your account, it is recommended to change their status to Unsubscribed instead of deleting. Unsubscribed contacts will never receive any emails from you, they won't have any impact on pricing and will keep the information about your customers, unsubscription reason and more.

⚠️ To restore accidentally unsubscribed contacts, the file with your contacts import should contain the opt-out date later than the opt-in one.


Didn't find the answer to your question? Reach out to our Support Team via in-app chat or at support@omnisend.com.

Did this answer your question?